About Us

KASAP's mission and values

 

The Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs (KASAP) is the coalition of Kentucky's 13 Sexual Assault Programs. The representatives of each of the 13 Sexual Assault Programs make up KASAP's Board of Directors. Since it was established in 1990, KASAP has served as a central point of contact on sexual violence issues in Kentucky. 

KASAP’s mission is to speak with a unified voice against sexual victimization. To accomplish our mission, KASAP provides technical assistance to member programs and other professionals, advocates for improvements in public policy, fosters coalition building among members and those with common concerns, and promotes prevention and public awareness regarding sexual violence and related issues. 
 
KASAP local programs are often referred to as “rape crisis centers” due to wording in Kentucky’s statutes. To clarify, services offered at the local programs are not limited to survivors of rape, but are open for survivors of any type of sexual harassment, sexual assault, or sexual violence. Services are also available to friends and family members of survivors.   
 

KASAP does not provide crisis services. If you or someone you know is in danger, please seek safety.  For advocacy, counseling and referrals, find your local sexual assault program or contact the national RAINN hotline at 1-800-656-HOPE. These options will put you in touch with an advocate who can talk with you about your situation, your safety, and the options available to you. All conversations are strictly confidential.

Join Our Team

Agency Values
We cultivate a work environment that encourages fairness, teamwork, and respect among all employees.  We recognize that individuals bring with them different traditions, backgrounds, life experiences, outlooks, and multi-layered identities to the workplace. KASAP is dedicated to honoring this fact and fostering an environment in which each individual feels supported to grow and express themselves, both personally and professionally.
 
As an agency, KASAP is committed to working against all forms of oppression and expects staff to keep this commitment at the forefront of their work and professional interactions. 
 

Now accepting applications for the following positions:

 

Student Opportunities

We review applications for internships and practicum student requests on an ongoing basis. Please submit your resume, program requirements, and reasons for wanting to complete your internship or practicum with us to the executive director, Missie Quillen, at mquillen@kasap.org

We do not accept applicants who are currently employed by one of our regional programs. Please contact us if you have specific questions. Thank you for your interest.

KASAP Staff

Amy Turner

Access Healing Project Coordinator (she/they)

aturner@kasap.org

Melissa 'Missie' Quillen

Executive Director (she/her)

mquillen@kasap.org

Olivia Given

Advocacy Specialist (she/her)

advocacy@kasap.org

Astraea Howard

Prevention Coordinator (she/her)

ahoward@kasap.org

Stephanie J. Humes

Federal Grants Specialist (she/her)

shumes@kasap.org

Laela Kashan

Staff Attorney (she/her)

lkashan@kasap.org

Serenda LoBue

Collaboration Specialist (she/her)

collaboration@kasap.org

Joan M. Mattingly

Accountant/Administrator (she/her)

jmattingly@kasap.org

Robyn Pizzo

Communication Specialist (she/her)

communication@kasap.org

Emily Tamas

Program Coordinator (she/her)

etamas@kasap.org

Jeff Zingg

Accounting Assistant (he/him)

accounting@kasap.org

The Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs, Inc. (KASAP) is the statewide coalition of the 13 rape crisis centers in the Commonwealth. The mission of KASAP is to speak with a unified voice against sexual victimization.

83-C Michael Davenport Boulevard
Frankfort, KY 40601
PO Box 4028, Frankfort, KY 40604

GET HELP NOW

Safe Exit