Computer Warning

Your computer use can be monitored. If at anytime you need to leave this website, click the "X" in the top right corner. Please be advised that your browsing history can still be seen by others unless you take steps to delete your history. Click Here for info on keeping yourself safe.

Click the 'X' in the top right corner to exit

SANE - Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner

A sexual assault nurse examiner (SANE) is a registered nurse who obtains specialized training in the forensic examination of sexual assault victims fourteen (14) years of age or older and is credentialed by the Kentucky Board of Nursing (KBN). A SANE conducts the forensic examination, collects and preserves physical evidence, and testifies in legal proceedings. 


Kentucky is one of few states that has legislated a SANE credential. The credential is issued by the KBN upon completion of the SANE training, including both the classroom portion and clinical requirements, and upon receiving the established application fee from the nurse. To maintain the SANE credential, the SANE must complete 5 hours of continuing education relating to the area of sexual assault each annual licensure period, November 1- October 31. The 5 hours may be included in the 14 contact hours required to maintain the general registered nurse license.  The registered nurse license and SANE credential are renewed concurrently. Click here to view Regulations for Certification:

SANE/SART Training

Course Overview (click here for program brochure and registration form)  

Training Faculty Includes:

  • Forensic Nursing
  • KASAP Staff 
  • Criminal Justice
  • Kentucky State Police Laboratory
  • Dept. of Criminal Justice Training Instructors 
  • Advocacy

Other Information:

Register early - space is limited. 

Training Dates & Locations for 2017:

  • March 13-17  ::  Northern, KY 
  • April 3,4,10,11 & 17  ::  Lexington, KY ::  SANE only
  • April 17-21  ::  Hazard, KY  
  • May 1-5  ::  Hopkinsville, KY  ::  SANE only
  • June 5-9  ::  Paducah, KY  
  • June 12-16  ::  Owensboro, KY  
  • July 10-14  ::  Richmond, KY  
  • August 21-25  ::  Elizabethtown, KY  
  • August 28- Sept 1  ::  Bowling Green, KY 
  • September 11-15  ::  Ashland, KY  
  • September 25-29  ::  Louisville, KY  

This project was supported by Grant Number VAWA ARRA-2009-KASAP-00034 awarded through the Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The Opinions, findings, conclusions and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women or the Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet.