Sexual Assault Awareness Month

March is Sexual Assault Awareness Month in Kentucky!

This is an annual opportunity to focus attention statewide on raising awareness about sexual violence and its prevention. It is also an opportunity to highlight the efforts of individuals and agencies that provide rape crisis intervention and prevention services while offering support to sexual assault survivors, victims and their families. SAAM raises awareness of sexual violence and its prevention through special events, while highlighting sexual violence as a major public health issue and reinforcing the need for prevention efforts.

Kentucky is unique in honoring March as Sexual Assault Awareness Month, as April is nationally designated as SAAM. Nonetheless, Kentuckians recognize SAAM in March because that simply works better here. In Kentucky, April is Child Abuse Awareness Month (visit ), and many of our Rape Crisis Centers participate in awareness campaigns for both. Furthermore, for many of our schools, Spring Break occurs during March, and the pre-Spring Break period appears to be ideal for sexual assault awareness and prevention activities.

If you would also like to support National SAAM efforts, we encourage you to visit for more information.

Sexual Assault Awareness Month Awards - Honoring the History of Kentucky's Anti-Rape Movement
Sexual Assault Awareness Month Awards (SAAMys) are designed to honor individuals who have made exceptional contributions to Kentucky’s movement against sexual victimization. SAAMy recipients are selected by a committee of victim service professional from a pool of nominations submitted from individuals throughout the Commonwealth

Sexual Assault Awareness Committee (SAAC) Mission Statement:  Raise awareness of sexual violence through advocacy and collaboration by being a voice for social change in Kentucky.

Sexual Assault Awareness Committee (SAAC)  Vision Statement:  To provide quality comprehensive services and support to end sexual violence.


Sexual Assault Awareness Month
Award Recipients & Resolutions:

Elizabeth (Missy) Rittinger, St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Rick Bartley, Pike County Commonwealth Attorney

Senate Resolution 185
House Resolution 115

Natalie Kelly
Shelly S. Miller

Senate Resolution 135
House Resolution 145

Eddie Farrey
Denise Hylton
Angelika Lewis-Bowling

Marie Almario
Phyllis Konerman
Jennifer Gay
Chief Terry Powell
Scott Napier

Margaret Banks
Tammy Hatfield
Marta Miranda
Sharon LaRue

Renae Duncan
Rep. Joni Jenkins
Roger Owens
Agnes Santiago
Marigail Sexton

Detective Jodi Ennis
Dr. Hatim Omar
Dr. William Smock
Edwina Walker
Sen. Jeffery Green, In Memoriam

Grace Ericksen
Lana Grandon
Carol E. Jordan
Diane Lawless
Rep. Jimmie Lee
Judi Conway Patton




This project was supported by Grant Number VAWA ARRA-2009-KASAP-00034 awarded through the Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The Opinions, findings, conclusions and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women or the Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet.